Reflections

Things to come…

Hey everyone!

Sorry for the lack of posts recently.  Let me give you an update on where I am at… I just graduated with my B.S. in Psychology last week.  The day after my last class, I purchased a ticket for Thailand.

For those of you who didn’t know, I am moving to Thailand for 1 year to work as a dorm assistant at a boarding school for English-speaking Missionary Kids.  The kids are all teenagers.  My role is to live in the dorm with them, help them with homework, go to their sporting/music/art/etc. events, and just be an encouragement while they are away from their parents.  I’m hoping to learn as much as I can about TCK life once I am there.  Anyway, I leave the 2nd week of June, so much of my time lately has been preparing for that departure.

AND, this afternoon, I am visiting Eastern University to check out their Theological and Cultural Anthropology MA program.  Once I get back from Thailand, I want to jump into a graduate program focussing on cultural or applied Anthropology.  Any suggestions?  I want to become an expert on Third Culture Kids so that I can become a consultant for international organizations.  My hope is to become a valuable resource in helping organizations (military, missionary, and international business especially) provide expatriate families with the care that they need.

Well, that’s just a quick update from me.  I will be much better at posting over the next few weeks because I have some time on my hands.  I have finished my independent study on Third Culture Kids, and I want to share some of the results with you.  Once I leave for Thailand, I am hoping to post some pictures from the trip, tell you about the missionary kids I meet over there (maybe have some tell their stories?), and let you in on my other TCK reflections.

 

2 thoughts on “Things to come…”

Leave a Reply

