Featured TCKs

Featured TCK: Dorines

Our TCK (Third Culture Kid) this week is Dorines.  I met Dorines through this blog, and when I asked if she would be willing to share her experience as a TCK, she was gracious enough to agree. Dorines is a daughter of two missionaries and soon to be a Social Worker.  She is currently in her 8th semester at college and living in a “WG” (a shared flat) with two good friends in Kassel, Germany.   Here is what she says about her experience:


 

Dorines looking over the Philippines
Dorines looking over the Philippines

What is the last good book you read? 
mmh more like still reading and those are many at the time. For example: “Deutsch sien und schwarz dazu” translated “to be German but black” by Theodor Michael

What is your favorite family/kids movie?
I’d say right now its Tangled

What have you been listening to lately? 
pugh alot on spotify, coldplay, the killers, James Morrison, Adele

If someone gave you a free plane ticket right now to visit any country in the world for a week, where would you go?
to India

Give me your TCK life map: Where were you at what ages, for how long?  
Germany at first till I was 3 Months old 3
Months to Age 1 in Chicago
Then back to Germany for a few months and off to the Philippines.
Age 1-5 in the Philippines, with 6 for one year in Germany.
Age 7-12 in the Philippines, with 12 for one year in Germany
13-18/19 in the Philippines,
with 19 till now (23) in Germany.

What reaction did people have when they found out you have lived in a different country/ in different countries? 
Well when they hear about my early years of traveling, especially those in the first years of my life, that we moved every year, they were a bit shocked. But mostly people look at me like I am an amazing creature and start asking questions. I always ask myself before I answer them, whether or not I want to answer and share more and wish to entertain them.

What is your passport country, and what shocked you about your passport country when you moved there? 
I have the German citizenship though I would love to have the Filipino one too. 🙂 When I moved back I was shocked how orderly everything was and got a mega culture shock when my family and I were brought into a carpeted apartment and then our TV was exchanged to a flat screen TV. That was a bit crazy for me, though the Philippines is very advanced in Technology it kinda confused me since I knew a lot of poor people and my parents who were missionaries didnt live a super rich life.

What was schooling like for you? Boarding school? Home school? Public School?
Well I went to an American/english speaking school. Brent International School Manila. Quite a rich school. I had the luck, after waking up at 5 AM to take a three hour drive to school for about two years, that my school built a new building 10 minutes away from us. I had the pleasure of driving with my brother or eventually by myself to school with a beautiful Nissan sports car (almost given as a gift to my parents).

What do you want people to know about TCKs? 
Pugh, hard to say, I rather let people ask questions. For me, life was normal the way I lived it until I stopped moving around with my parents and my parents chose to remain in Germany (that was hard, made a cut in my heart). I guess its hard adapting. I am Filipina, German and somehow American. It all kinda mixed, and I guess its hard to not miss the place where I grew up. If I could have a palm tree here in Germany I‘d be a bit more happy :).

I think the best thing though to have, which helps me not miss “home” or rather the life I loved in the Philippines, are ppl here in Germany (friends) who just accept me and my problems with the German language, etc. That helps to take courage and build up something new. Another thing is that ppl who traveled around so much, at least I feel so, carry sorrow of lost with them. Sometimes I don’t always want to start new and have to decide and take courage.

I love to travel, but on the search for “home” (see its split up, my family here in Germany (some I only really am getting to know now) and the Philippines) its hard to figure out who one really is. I believe that TCK‘s need ppl who help them to realized this is where you are and we are here to help you settle, no pressure, take your time and will teach you a bit about the culture you are but missed out on for like 20 years almost. I believe without this, we TCK‘s are in our hearts restless and a little lost.


Thanks for sharing Dorines!  It is so valuable to hear about your experiences!

Future Posts: I am in the process of summarizing the data I have collected from my project on TCKs.  I hope to share some of that information in future posts.  However, I would like to continue the featured TCK posts until I am ready to share that. In the next two weeks, you will hear about two brothers who grew up in Thailand as missionary kids.  But I hope to post some other non-interview posts earlier in the week.  I particularly am looking forward to sharing a fantastic poem I found that I really think you’re going to love.  So stay tuned!

Palm trees in the Philippines
Palm trees in the Philippines
The Philippines from above
The Philippines from above
3 thoughts on “Featured TCK: Dorines”

  1. I’m really enjoying these posts on featured TCKs. I was wondering if you’ve read “Home Keeps Moving” by Heidi Sand-Hart? She was a missionary TCK and she wrote about her experiences. It’s a great book and it’s not too long. I would highly recommend it, especially with everything you’re writing about and researching.

    1. Thanks Dounia! I have really been enjoying hearing people’s perspectives. I have not read “Home Keeps Moving”, but I have heard of it. I will certainly add it to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

