Featured TCKs

Featured TCK: my brother Nate

Image

As a matter of interest, I decided to send out some questions to my siblings about their experience as a missionary kid.  Today, I will present the answers given to me by my oldest brother, Nate.  Next time, I will post the answers given by my Sister Melody.  You will notice that both siblings have great differences and great similarities!

Nate is my oldest brother.  He is a husband, a father of four really cute kids, an engineer, and a man who loves to travel.  Here are the answers he has given…
What is your last good book you read?
Divergent
What is your favorite family/kids movie (Think Disney, Pixar, or other good family movies)?
The Incredibles
What have you been listening to lately?
Crystal Castles
If someone gave you a free plane ticket right now to visit any country in the world for 1 week, where would you go?
Maldives
Give me your TCK life map:
Canada from birth to a few months,
Singapore for a few months,
Thailand for 18 years with several breaks in the US/Canada, and boarding school in Malaysia and the Philippines.
USA from 18-present (33 years old)…Pennsylvania, Texas (for School), North Carolina.
What reaction did people have when they found out you lived in Thailand?
Mild Interest
 
Name one thing that shocked you about America when you moved here (or did you pretty much get what you expected?):
How uninteresting I was.  (I was used to standing out in a crowd.)
Image
Nate (the closest to the camera) at boarding school getting ready for bed
What was boarding school like for you?
I always enjoyed boarding school.  I saw it as an adventure.  When I look back, I have nothing but fond memories.
What do you want people to know about TCKs?
It is hard to be a TCK.  If I looked non-American, I feel I would be more easily forgiven for some of my quirks/cultural differences.
I don’t like looking/sounding the same, but having a different cultural background from my peers.  Explaining my background
becomes exhausting.  It feels like I am either showing off or making an excuse, neither of which I am trying to do.
If you have any questions for Nate, I will be sure to pass them on to him!

Next post is about my sister Melody’s experience.  As I mentioned before, you’ll notice some significant differences and some similarities between Melody and Nate’s stories.  I hope to continue posting these same questions and answers for lots of third culture kids, spouses of TCKs, friends of TCKs, and so on.  I think it’s important to hear everyone’s story!  I hope you will stay tuned!
6 thoughts on “Featured TCK: my brother Nate”

Leave a Reply

