Reflections

Family of Strangers

When we moved back to the States, we stayed  with our extended family.  I was excited to see them and excited to return to a place I had a vague memory of from childhood.  But at the same time, I felt so insecure.  As my relatives came up to me and welcomed us home, I realized that I had no idea who these people were.  Seriously, I couldn’t even remember which name belonged with which face.  And considering that I only saw them 2 or 3 times a year after moving back, it took me a couple years to remember everyone’s name.
Even after mastering names, I felt like I had only recently inherited these relatives.  They had a history that I was unable to identify with.  My cousins talked about memories of their times together that I couldn’t understand.  They talked about movies, celebrities, music, and games that I didn’t even know existed.
Support is important. Some people find it in extended family. For the TCK, this may not be very realistic.  Some people find it in neighbors and friends…. But when a person is as mobile as a TCK, neighbors and friends are not so permanent.  Growing up, I knew that my most lasting supporters would be my immediate family…. But even then, people move away.  So where does the support come from?  For me, I found that God was the only one able to provide that lasting support, and it’s made all the difference.

A part from an AWESOME movie:  The Parent TrapWho's grandfather?

Leave a Reply

